The BiologyCode

SodaTide

A once-a-day capsule of chicory inulin, potato resistant starch and a three-species probiotic blend, sold through the seller's own checkout. This entry runs the four checks on the label, the research and the way it is sold.

The short version

  • The label is more open than many: 211 mg of chicory inulin, 100 mg of potato resistant starch and a 36 mg total for three probiotic species. It does not name the strains or give live-cell counts.
  • The fiber doses are roughly 2 to 7 percent of the amounts used in the studies we found, and we found no published trial of this exact capsule.
  • Every order path we followed ends at one checkout, mysodatide.com, and seven lookalike sites hand orders to it. We saw $49 to $79 a bottle, a 60-day refund promise that differs from page to page, and no third-party testing shown.

The four checks

Actives

Partial

Milligrams are printed for both fibers and for the probiotic blend as a whole (347 mg of actives per capsule). The species are named; strains, per-species amounts and live-cell counts are not.

Claims

Overreaches

The pack and the seller's front page promise effects on appetite, fat metabolism, body weight and blood sugar. No published trial of this formula backs any of them.

Guarantees

Partial

Prices are shown and every seller page offers a 60-day refund, but the terms differ by page, no registered company or street address is given for the distributor, and the order flow adds an extra-offer screen.

Testing

Not shown

No lab, certificate or certifying program is named. The seller's site shows generic badges, including a round “FDA” seal stamped “Approved”, which the FDA says it does not give to supplements [1].

Key: ✓ disclosed or verified · ◐ partial · ✕ missing or not shown. Statuses reflect what we could confirm from the label, the seller's own pages and public sources on the review date.

What is inside

This is the Supplement Facts panel on the seller's own label artwork (serving size one capsule, 30 servings per container), read on Sep 25, 2026.

IngredientAmount per servingWhat to know
Chicory root inulin211 mgA fermentable fiber gut bacteria can use (a prebiotic). Daily value “not established”.
Potato resistant starch100 mgStarch that escapes digestion in the small intestine. The type (for example RS2) is not stated.
Probiotic blend36 mg totalBifidobacterium infantis, Clostridium butyricum, Akkermansia muciniphila, in that order. No strains, per-species amounts or CFU.
Other ingredientsnot statedHypromellose (vegetarian capsule), microcrystalline cellulose, magnesium stearate, silica. Amounts are not listed, which is normal.

Under the FDA's blend rule, ingredients are listed in descending order of weight [2], so Akkermansia, the species the sales pages stress most, appears to be the smallest share of the 36 mg. The panel says “Made in the USA with globally sourced ingredients”, advises refrigeration, and names Instituto Experience of Lakeland, Florida as distributor; no manufacturer is named. Our guide to reading a Supplement Facts panel explains blends.

What the research says

Ingredient studies do not automatically carry over to a finished capsule, because dose, strain and form matter. We found no published trial of this exact formula, so we compare the label with what trials used.

Chicory inulin

A 2023 systematic review found chicory-derived inulin-type fibers at 3 to 20 g a day increased gut Bifidobacterium (50 studies, 2,525 participants) [3], and EFSA's panel backed a normal-bowel-function claim at 12 g a day, from six studies in 86 people [4]. One capsule's 211 mg is about 7 percent of the 3 g low end and under 2 percent of 12 g; reaching 12 g would take roughly 57 capsules. Even at studied doses, one randomized, double-blind crossover trial (two authors work for a chicory-fiber producer) called the overall effect on the gut microbiota modest [5].

Potato resistant starch

Resistant-starch trials generally use grams. The lowest dose we found was 3.5 g a day of a branded potato starch, linked over four weeks to greater increases in Bifidobacterium and Akkermansia than placebo, in a trial whose authors are tied to the starch's maker [6]. The label's 100 mg is about 3 percent of that, and responses vary: in 20 healthy adults, stool butyrate rose in some and not in others [7].

The probiotic blend

Weight is not a live-cell count, and the trials we found report both a named strain and a number of cells. A 2019 exploratory trial (32 completers, adults recruited for metabolic-health reasons) gave 1010 bacteria a day of Akkermansia, live or heat-treated, for three months; the abstract reports differences from placebo in some blood markers of metabolic health for the heat-treated form only. Some authors hold related patent applications and two co-founded a company in this field [8]. A 2026 trial in 90 adults recruited for metabolic-health reasons, using a heat-treated strain after a diet phase, reported a difference from placebo on its primary outcome, a body-mass measure; several authors are co-founders, executives or employees of The Akkermansia Company and declare a related patent application, and short duration is a stated limitation [9]. A 2025 trial of another named strain (AKK-WST01) in 58 adults recruited for metabolic-health reasons found no significant overall difference between groups; the paper reported differences from placebo only in the subgroup whose starting Akkermansia levels were low [10].

None of these used SodaTide's capsule. The label does not say whether its Akkermansia is live or heat-treated; one 2022 laboratory study needed spray-drying encapsulation to keep this species viable in stored air [11], so a buyer cannot tell how many live cells a capsule holds. Different probiotics also act in different ways [12]: in a trial of a named B. infantis strain, stool levels fell back towards baseline once dosing stopped [13]. SodaTide names no strain for any of its three species, so it cannot be matched to a body of trials.

“Synbiotic”

The word only describes a live microbe plus a substrate it can use. ISAPP's 2020 consensus accepts a plain probiotic-plus-prebiotic mix as a “complementary” synbiotic, but it is still expected to confer a benefit [14]. We did not find that shown here.

What the seller says

The seller's front page describes action on “harmful bacteria” and promises around appetite and blood sugar, and shows testimonials with names, cities and “Verified Purchase” stars, while its own footer says some names have been changed and its terms say actors may be used to present the products. Nothing on the label or in the studies above supports those outcomes for this capsule.

Watch out

Ingredient research is not product research. The studies used grams of fiber and named strains at stated cell counts; this label shows milligrams and unnamed strains. Treat any digestive or appetite effect as unproven. Probiotics carry more risk for people with severe illness or weakened immunity [12].

Price and where it is sold

Prices seen

On Sep 25, 2026 the seller's order page [15] offered 2 bottles at $79 each ($158 plus $9.99 shipping), 3 at $69 ($207, free shipping) and 6 at $49 ($294, free shipping). That is about $2.80 (shipping included), $2.30 and $1.63 per daily capsule (30 capsules a bottle). No single bottle was offered. The crossed-out totals imply a $179-a-bottle list price; the home page shows $179 as the crossed-out figure for two bottles while the order page shows $358, and we saw no evidence of sales at that price.

Who is selling it

Every SodaTide page we followed ends at one order page, mysodatide.com, whose buttons pass payment to the BuyGoods checkout. The label names Instituto Experience of Lakeland, Florida as distributor; policy pages sit on a Brazilian domain, one returns page gives a Largo, Florida return address, and footers read “Sodatide Research”. We found no registered company name or street address for the distributor. One contact email ([email protected]) appears on the label, the seller's home page and both returns pages we opened, so the seller is reachable, but that does not say who is legally responsible.

Lookalike storefronts

Searches return many “official” sites. We checked the order buttons on seven (sooodatide.com, ssodatide.com, soodatide.com, soda-tiide.com, sodatidestore.com, thesodatide.com and soda-tide.store): all lead to the same mysodatide.com order page, with affiliate tracking IDs in the link. They look like affiliate marketing sites rather than separate sellers; we are an affiliate too, and our button is tracked the same way. Their details differ: soda-tide.store lists prices the checkout does not offer, describes “antimicrobial botanicals” that are not on the label and claims a 4.9/5 rating from “over 12,400 satisfied customers”, while Trustpilot's page for that domain showed 2.0 out of 5 from 14 reviews [16].

Checkout and refund terms

The seller promises 60 days, but its pages disagree on how it works: contact support after at least 30 days of use (home page); post back all bottles, empty or not, at your own cost, counting from purchase (returns page in the order flow); count from delivery, with instructions from support (returns page on the legal site). After you pick a pack, the public next-step page says “Your order is not complete yet”, shows a 3:00 countdown clock and offers extra bottles at $19 or $33 each. We did not place an order, so we cannot say how often this appears; Trustpilot reviewers describe totals well above the advertised price [16]. The seller says purchases are one-time, but the checkout template also contains a monthly “Subscribe & Save” option and a “BuyGoods” card descriptor. If you order, read every screen, decline add-ons you do not want, and save the confirmation and the refund terms as shown that day.

Who should look elsewhere

  • Anyone who wants a probiotic with a named strain and a stated live-cell count. See how the Culturelle Daily Probiotic entry handles this.
  • Anyone hoping for a specific weight, appetite or blood-sugar result: there is no published evidence for this formula.
  • People who are pregnant or nursing, under 18, taking prescription medicines, living with a medical condition, or with a weakened immune system. The label itself tells pregnant or nursing mothers, anyone under 18 and anyone with a known medical condition to consult a physician first.
  • Anyone who wants an independent lab result before buying (none is published; see what testing seals mean) or a seller with a named legal entity and one consistent refund policy.

Sources

  1. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Questions and answers on dietary supplements (the agency cannot approve supplements before they are marketed), and a consumer update on what agency approval covers (facility registration is not approval). Q&A · consumer update
  2. U.S. Code of Federal Regulations, 21 CFR 101.36(c): labeling of a proprietary blend of dietary ingredients. eCFR
  3. Nagy DU, Sándor-Bajusz KA, Bódy B, et al. Systematic review with meta-analyses of randomized trials of chicory-derived inulin-type fructans, Bifidobacterium abundance and bowel function. Critical Reviews in Food Science and Nutrition, 2023. PubMed
  4. EFSA Panel on Dietetic Products, Nutrition and Allergies. Scientific opinion on native chicory inulin and normal defecation, EFSA Journal 2015;13(1):3951. The EFSA site blocked our access, so the 12 g a day and six-study, 86-person figures come from a trade-press report quoting the opinion. NutraIngredients, Jan 9, 2015
  5. Vandeputte D, Falony G, Vieira-Silva S, et al. Randomized crossover trial of inulin-type fructans and changes in the human gut microbiota. Gut, 2017. PubMed
  6. Bush JR, Baisley J, Harding SV, Alfa MJ (declared ties to the starch's manufacturer). Four-week placebo-controlled trial of 3.5 g and 7 g a day of a branded resistant potato starch. Nutrients, 2023. PubMed
  7. Venkataraman A, Sieber JR, Schmidt AW, et al. Variable responses of human microbiomes to dietary supplementation with resistant starch. Microbiome, 2016. PubMed
  8. Depommier C, Everard A, Druart C, et al. Exploratory randomized trial of live or pasteurised Akkermansia muciniphila in adults recruited for metabolic-health reasons (competing interests declared in the paper). Nature Medicine, 2019. PubMed
  9. Mount S, Canfora EE, Jocken JW, et al. Randomized trial of a pasteurised Akkermansia strain in 90 adults after a diet phase. Nature Medicine, 2026 (competing interests declared in the paper). PubMed
  10. Zhang Y, Liu R, Chen Y, et al. Twelve-week placebo-controlled trial of an Akkermansia strain in 58 adults recruited for metabolic-health reasons, and the role of baseline levels. Cell Metabolism, 2025. PubMed
  11. Barbosa JC, Almeida D, Machado D, et al. Spray-drying encapsulation of Akkermansia muciniphila to survive storage in air. Pharmaceuticals, 2022. PubMed
  12. National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NIH). Probiotics: usefulness and safety. nccih.nih.gov
  13. Charbonneau D, Gibb RD, Quigley EM. Stool excretion of Bifidobacterium infantis 35624 during and after eight weeks of dosing. Gut Microbes, 2013. PubMed
  14. Swanson KS, Gibson GR, Hutkins R, et al. ISAPP consensus statement on the definition and scope of synbiotics. Nature Reviews Gastroenterology & Hepatology, 2020. PubMed
  15. Seller pages opened Sep 25, 2026: home page · order page · label artwork · next-step page · returns (order flow) · returns (legal site) · terms
  16. Trustpilot page for the soda-tide.store storefront, opened Sep 25, 2026 (14 reviews, 2.0 out of 5; a small, unverified sample). trustpilot.com

This entry is educational and is not medical advice. Ask a qualified clinician before starting any supplement, especially if you are pregnant, nursing, or take medication. Dietary supplements are not evaluated by the FDA for safety or effectiveness before sale.